Holy See


1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars



Holy See flag

About Country

Vatican City
Approximately 825 (2022 estimate)
Population Density
1,875 people per square kilometer
Italian and Latin are the official languages, with Italian being the most widely spoken
Euro (EUR)
Roman Catholicism is the official religion of the Holy See
The Holy See has a Mediterranean climate with hot summers and cool winters. Rainfall is generally limited and occurs mainly in the fall and winter months
Main Industries
The Holy See has no significant industries, with the economy being primarily supported by donations and tourism
Approximately 44 hectares (0.17 square miles)

Experience the awe-inspiring beauty and rich history of the Holy See 🇻🇦, the spiritual heart of Rome. Explore the stunning Vatican Museums 🎨, marvel at the grandeur of St. Peter’s Basilica ⛪, and learn about the fascinating papal history 🌟. Plan your pilgrimage to the Holy See today!

The Holy See, also known as the Vatican City State, is a city-state enclaved within Rome, Italy. It is the smallest independent state in the world, with an area of approximately 44 hectares (110 acres). The Holy See is the spiritual and administrative center of the Roman Catholic Church and the residence of the Pope.


  • Basilica di San Pietro, Città del Vaticano
  • gabriella-clare-marino-sahKXbvPsO0-unsplash
  • Saint Peter's Square, Vatican City
  • St Peter Basilica Vaticano, Vatican City
  • St Peter's dome during golden hour at the Vatican
  • St Peter's Square, Vatican City
  • St. Peter's Basilica, Città del Vaticano, Vatican City (1)
  • St. Peter's Basilica, Città del Vaticano, Vatican City
  • St. Peter's Basilica, Piazza San Pietro, Vatican City
  • Vatican City (1)
  • Vatican City

Main Attractions

Some of the main tourist attractions in the Holy See include:

  • 1

    St. Peter's Basilica: a major basilica in Vatican City, known for its stunning Baroque architecture and housing some of the most important works of art in the world.

  • 2

    Sistine Chapel: a chapel in the Apostolic Palace, renowned for its beautiful frescoes by Michelangelo and other Renaissance artists.

  • 3

    Vatican Museums: a complex of museums and galleries in Vatican City, featuring an extensive collection of art and artifacts from ancient times to the present day.

  • 4

    St. Peter's Square: a large public square in front of St. Peter's Basilica, featuring a beautiful colonnade and obelisk.

  • 5

    Vatican Gardens: a collection of landscaped gardens and parks within the Vatican City, offering a peaceful retreat from the busy city streets.

  • 6

    Castel Sant'Angelo: a historic fortress and museum in Rome, located just outside Vatican City and offering stunning views of the city.

  • 7

    Papal Audience: a chance to attend a public audience with the Pope, held on Wednesdays (when the Pope is in Rome) in St. Peter's Square.

  • 8

    Vatican Library: one of the oldest and most important libraries in the world, housing a vast collection of manuscripts, books, and other historical documents.

  • 9

    Vatican Necropolis: an ancient Roman cemetery located beneath St. Peter's Basilica, featuring the tombs of many popes and other important figures.

  • 10

    Pontifical Villas of Castel Gandolfo: a collection of historic villas and gardens located in the nearby town of Castel Gandolfo, serving as the summer residence of the Pope.

These are just a few examples of the many attractions that the Holy See has to offer. As the spiritual center of the Catholic Church and the home of some of the most important works of art and architecture in the world, it is a unique and fascinating destination for travelers of all backgrounds.


Error Report